Continuing Medical Education (CME)

What is Continuing Medical Education?

Continuing Medical Education (CME) consists of educational activities which help to maintain, develop, or increase the knowledge, skills, and professional performance of medical health professionals. CME credits are used to complete continuing professional development requirements through the individual’s professional association.

How do I find out which events and courses offer CME credits?

Many PHO events and courses are self-approved group learning activities as defined by the Maintenance of Certification Program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC). CME eligibility is included in the invitation for each event and course, and participants submit CME credits through their professional association.

How do I apply for and receive CME credits?

In order to receive written documentation for CME credits, participants will need to check "Yes" beside the question "Do you require CME credits?" when registering for an event or course.

Please Note: CFPC Affiliate Members may count RCPSC credits toward their Mainpro+ credit requirements. All other CFPC members may claim up to 50 Certified credits per cycle for participation in RCPSC MOC Section 1 accredited activities.

Please refer to the RCPSC website for more information.

Continuing Medical Education (CME) Committee

The Continuing Medical Education (CME) Committee at Public Health Ontario (PHO) ensures that CME activities directed towards physicians, including public health and preventive medicine specialists and medical microbiologists, meet the self-approval standards of the RCPSC and, where applicable, the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC).

The CME Committee brings together multi-disciplinary experts from across Ontario to inform the development, implementation, and evaluation of PHO Rounds, PHO Microbiology Rounds, and other planned continuing educational activities.

Committee Member Disclosures

Ana Cabrera
Clinical Microbiologist
London Health Sciences Centre

No disclosures

Fareen Karachiwalla
Associate Medical Officer of Health
KFL&A Public Health

Inner City Health Associates (ICHA) - Family physician - Vice chair of the Board of Directors (current – Nov 2022), Chair of the Board of Directors (beginning Nov 2022).

College of Physicians & Surgeons of Ontario (CPSO) - Consultant (January 2022).

Jeya Nadarajah
IPAC Physician
Public Health Ontario

No disclosures

Jin Hee Kim
Public Health Physician
Public Health Ontario

Urban Typology – Shareholder in spouse’s urban design company.

Liane Macdonald
Public Health Physician
Public Health Ontario

CIHR / CoVARRNet ‐ Co‐investigator on CIHR/CoVARRNet‐funded grants on tuberculosis, COVID‐19.

Melissa Greenblatt
Clinical Microbiologist
Public Health Ontario

No disclosures

Pamela Leece
Public Health Physician
Public Health Ontario

Adapt Pharma ‐ In‐kind donation of naloxone nasal spray kits for CIHR‐funded study, Co‐ Investigator.

Sudit Ranade
Medical Officer of Health
Lambton Public Health 

 No disclosures

Call for Members

There are currently no open calls. Please check back for future opportunities.

Conflict of Interest Rule

Public Health Ontario recognizes that many external advisors may not be completely free of actual, potential or perceived conflict of interest, as they may have affiliations with regulated industries, the scientific community or special interest groups, which receive funding from industry.

In an attempt to avoid or mitigate conflict of interest, we have developed conflict of interest rules that are intended to achieve a reasonable balance of those divergent considerations and the expertise we hope to gain from the external advisors, while avoiding or mitigating conflict of interest. To this end, each candidate will be asked to complete a conflict of interest disclosure form as part of the application process.

Learn more about PHO’s Conflict of Interest Rules.

Chat icon

Contact Events

Contact Capacity Building

capacitybuilding@oahpp.ca

Updated 31 Aug 2022

Formation médicale continue (FMC)

Qu'est-ce que la Formation Médicale Continue ?

La formation médicale continue (FMC) consiste en des activités éducatives qui contribuent à maintenir, développer ou accroître les connaissances, les compétences et le rendement professionnels des professionnels de la santé. Les crédits de FMC sont utilisés pour satisfaire aux exigences de développement professionnel continu par l’entremise de l’association professionnelle de la personne.

Comment découvrir quels événements et cours offrent des crédits de FMC?

De nombreux événements et cours de Santé publique Ontario sont des activités d’apprentissage de groupe auto-approuvées, telles que définies par le programme de maintien du certificat du CRMCC. L’admissibilité au FMC est incluse dans l’invitation à chaque événement et cours, et les participants soumettent des crédits de FMC par l’entremise de leur association professionnelle.

Comment puis-je demander et recevoir des crédits de FMC?

Afin de recevoir la documentation écrite pour les crédits de FMC, les participants devront cocher « Oui » à la question « Avez-vous besoin de crédits de FMC? » lors de leur inscription à un événement ou à un cours.

Veuillez noter : Les membres affiliés du comité MFC peuvent compter les crédits du CRMCC dans le calcul de leurs exigences en matière de crédits Mainpro+. Tous les autres membres du comité MFC peuvent demander jusqu’à 50 crédits certifiés par cycle pour leur participation à des activités accréditées en vertu de la section 1 du programme de Maintien du certificat du CRMCC.

Veuillez consulter le site Web du CMRCC pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Comité de Formation Médicale Continue (FMC)

Le comité FMC de Santé publique Ontario (SPO) veille à ce que les activités de formation médicale continue (FMC) destinées aux médecins, y compris les spécialistes de la santé publique et de la médecine préventive et les microbiologistes médicaux, respectent les normes d’autoapprobation du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada (CRMCC) et, le cas échéant, du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (MFC).

Le comité FMC réunit des experts multidisciplinaires de tout l’Ontario pour éclairer l’élaboration, la mise en œuvre et l’évaluation des rondes de SPO, des rondes de microbiologie de SPO et d’autres activités de formation continue prévues.

Membre du comité Renseignements à divulguer

Ana Cabrera
Microbiologiste clinique
London Health Sciences Centre 

Aucun renseignement à divulguer

Fareen Karachiwalla
Médecin hygiéniste adjointe
Bureau de santé de Kingston, Frontenac, Lennox et Addington 

Inner City Health Associates (ICHA) – Médecin de famille, vice-présidente du conseil d’administration (jusqu’en novembre 2022) et présidente du conseil d’administration (dès novembre 2022).

Ordre des Médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario (OMCO) – Consultante (janvier 2022).

Jeya Nadarajah
Médecin spécialiste de la PCI
Santé publique Ontario 

Aucun renseignement à divulguer

Jin Hee Kim
Médecin de santé publique
Santé publique Ontario 

Typologie urbaine – Actionnaire de la société de design urbain de son conjoint.

Liane Macdonald
Médecin de santé publique
Santé publique Ontario 

IRSC – Co-chercheuse d’une subvention de projet 2017-2021 sur la tuberculose chez les migrants (CP de l’Ontario : Dre Sarah Brode).

Melissa Greenblatt
Microbiologiste clinique
Santé publique Ontario 

Aucun renseignement à divulguer

Pamela Leece
Médecin de santé publique
Santé publique Ontario 

Adapt Pharma – Don en nature de trousses de naloxone en vaporisateur nasal pour une étude financée par les IRSC, co-chercheuse.

Sudit Ranade
Médecin hygiéniste
Lambton Public Health

Aucun renseignement à divulguer

Appel aux membres

Il n’y a actuellement aucun appel ouvert. Revenez pour connaître les possibilités futures.

Règles relatives aux conflits d’intérêts

Santé publique Ontario reconnaît que de nombreux conseillers externes peuvent ne pas être totalement exempts de conflits d’intérêts réels, potentiels ou perçus, car ils peuvent avoir des affiliations avec des industries réglementées, la communauté scientifique ou des groupes d’intérêts spéciaux qui reçoivent des fonds de l’industrie.

Dans le but d’éviter ou d’atténuer les conflits d’intérêts, nous avons élaboré des règles en la matière qui visent à atteindre un équilibre raisonnable entre ces considérations divergentes et l’expertise que nous espérons obtenir des conseillers externes, tout en évitant ou en atténuant les conflits d’intérêts. À cette fin, il sera demandé à chaque candidat de remplir un formulaire de divulgation des conflits d’intérêts dans le cadre de la procédure de candidature.

En apprendre davantage sur les règles relatives aux conflits d’intérêts de SPO.

icône de messagerie

Contacter le Service

Renforcement des capacités

capacitybuilding@oahpp.ca

Publié le 30 août 2022